Lifetime CDL Disqualifications may be reduced to 10 years if the driver meets certain qualifications.
- The CDL disqualification must be because of a Georgia action. If your CDL disqualification originates from another state, you will have to pursue action with the other state, if such is available
- You must have a valid Georgia Class C driver's license
- 10 years must have passed since the disqualification
- The disqualification must not have been for a conviction for homicide by vehicle or serious injury by vehicle, use of a vehicle in commission of a felony drug offense, or use of a vehicle for human trafficking
- Have had no traffic offenses within the preceding five years.
To obtain a lifting of the disqualification, the driver must submit:
- $210 non-refundable CDL Restoration Fee
- a certified seven (7) year Georgia motor vehicle report (MVR) dated within 30 days of the application showing last five years offense-free
- If the disqualification was based on an alcohol-related offense, the driver must submit a drug and alcohol evaluation dated within 90 days of the application showing no need for substance abuse treatment
- If the disqualification was not based on an alcohol-related offense, then a certificate of completion of a defensive driving clinic dated within 90 days of the application
- A current USDOT medical certificate card